Ahhh

Today was so refreshing.

1- I felt better enough to go back to school.  I think I would have gone in no matter what, but it’s nice to go back feeling a little better.  I think I’m on the upswing of this cold now. 

2- My student who has been walking out of my class each day this week decided to stay!  It’s nice to be able to focus on teaching and not be interrupted by behavioral challenges.

3- I will be getting a student teacher next year, as long as I stay in my same position.  This excites me because it will force me to better my own practice, share what I know with others, and will allow me to give back to my Alma Mater.

4- I met with my Balanced Literacy cohort.  This year I’m part of a balanced literacy pilot, and as a group we meet to learn, grow, and share.  I love being able to share ideas and learn what others are thinking.  It’s a great support group, especially because I feel so isolated teaching balanced literacy in special ed.  I may be the only sped teacher, but I still have colleagues working toward the same goal.

5- Because of my knowledge of balanced literacy I’ve been asked to go to a conference this summer.  I would be going with our literacy coach and would be 1 of 2 elementary positions. It is such an honor to be asked, and it feels great to be recognized.

Looking forward to tomorrow- Friday!  Hoping it’s as good a day as today!

Image

6 thoughts on “Ahhh

Leave a Reply

