Sick

Why is it that I always try to avoid taking sick days?

I know part of it is that it always ends up being more work to stay home than it takes to just go into school.

I also know that I have this complex (I think many teachers do) that only I can teach my students.

As much as both of these statements are true- I’m actually taking the day off tomorrow to try and get healthy.  Tomorrow is my only day without pressing meetings- I have to be at school every other day this week.  And having not slept well last night today was a bit rough.  I’m hoping that a little bit of extra sleep and some time to just veg will have me ready for the rest of the week.

Hopefully all of the extra time it took to write sub plans today will be worth it!

SOLC13

4 thoughts on “Sick

  1. It is too much work to take a sick day. If you are like me, you dread the report that tells you the class was horrible. I took a sick day with my son yesterday…and had to lecture my 8th hour yet again today because of their behavior. It is just easier to be there. Hope you feel better soon!

  2. In terms of the sub plans…Don’t you feel like you go into way too much detail, out of necessity, but then wonder if anyone even reads it? My sub plans are always pages long and I often feel like I am the only one who can do it. I think this is because I know my students. You have to know them to teach them and it is hard to pass the reigns to just anyone.

  3. Sub plans are the worst! Yet some days we need to be gone. We had a professional development day Monday, today I was at a conference, rescheduled from last week’s storm. Tomorrow I’m out for 2 doctor’s appointments. I’ve probably spent 5 hours doing prep, if I didn’t do it I wouldn’t feel like I could be gone.

Leave a Reply

