As a Reader and Writer

Image

I’m sitting in the doctor’s office, waiting for my husband and father-in-law.  I tried reading, but it wasn’t working.  Here’s what I’ve learned about myself as a reader and a writer over the past few months.

 

As a READER…

  • I need quiet, otherwise I can’t concentrate
  • I like to take notes
  • I love getting sucked into a book
  • I miss book club.  There was something so special about getting together to talk about books, as well as life, with some of my best friends.
  • I choose books based on others recommendations.  Otherwise, I’m kind of lost.
  • I want to read more kid’s lit. 
  • I’m excited about my graduate course this summer, hopefully I’ll be able to read more children’s books
  • I love sharing my love of books with my students
  • Books are SO powerful at sending messages.  I would love to find some books with main characters that have ADHD or Emotional Impairments. 
  • Reading for pleasure is nowhere near the same as reading for class.
  • I need to teach my students how to read more often for pleasure; maybe that’s one of the keys to helping them succeed.

 

 

As a WRITER…

  • I am a writer!
  • Once I set a goal, little can get in my way.
  • I can write for 31 days straight, even when it’s difficult.
  • I have a surprising amount to say
  • It’s easier for me to type my thoughts than to write them in a journal
  • I like to document my thoughts
  • I’m not as bad a writer as I thought
  • I can write creatively
  • My students respond better to my writing, as opposed to someone else’s writing
  • I get positive feedback from my students about my writing- it feels good
  • I’m hesitant to open up and share my thoughts with others
  • But, at the same time, I can be more open while writing than I am while talking
  • Writing is calming for me, even when it’s stressful initially
  • I have the most difficulty choosing a topic to write about
  • Once I get going, I have a lot to say
  • Poetry isn’t so bad after all
  • I love getting comments from others
  • I want to find more mentor texts about writing
  • I want to continue my study of writing to continue to grow as a teacher of writing
  • It feels good to accomplish something that I was unsure of
3 thoughts on “As a Reader and Writer

  1. It’s good to sit back and reflect on yourself as a reader and a writer. Look at all the things you’ve discovered about yourself and some even seem to surprise you. Have you had your students do this? It might make for a good reflection of their learning for the year.
    Read Wondrous Words by Katie Wood Ray to learn about the intentional craft in writing. That book opened my eyes to reading like a writer more than anything else.
    Keep on this journey, it will take you far.

Leave a Reply

