Tis the Season

Tis the Season…for Job Hunting.  Ugh!

This is the third year in a row now that I’ve had to begin the job search around this time of year.  3 years ago my thoughts were, “Well, if something turns up, then we’ll move.”

Last year, we did move.  I quit my job- a job I loved, at a school I loved- in June, and wasn’t hired until October. I had a total of maybe 3 interviews during the entire summer.

I am currently working as a long-term sub.  This will not do as long-term employment, so it’s back to the job search.  I find it a strange place to be in.  I don’t want to change my resume and cover letter much, because they say what I want them to say, but at the same time they didn’t do me much good the past two years.  Is it me?  Is it the job market?  Have the stars not aligned just right?

I want to be picky- I want to find a school that fits me, and a job that will make me happy.  But, can I really be picky?  I need a job.  It’s as simple as that.

Ideally I’d get a literacy coach/literacy resource teaching job.  It’s what I’m working on my Masters for. But, since I don’t have my Masters yet, it takes me out of the running for a number of positions.  I would be more than happy to take a general education teaching position.  Thankfully I know of a few openings right now, so I’m working on updating all of my information so that I can send in my applications.  I’d much rather teach upper elementary than lower elementary but I’ll take what I can get.  Of course, I’m certified to teach special ed. and that’s what I’m teaching now.  I love special education, but it wears on me so quickly.  I would take a job if it was offered, and I would put 110% into the job, as I always do, but I’m not sure I would be happy.

I’m ready for everything to fall into place so that I can have my summer to plan and prepare, instead of having it be anxiety and stress producing!

Leave a Reply

