Nothing to write

Today I feel like one of my students- I don’t know what to write. I have lots swirling around in my brain, but nothing is well formed enough to become a piece of text.  I’m sure it’s because of the long weekend and the extra long day with the start of conferences.

How is it that I can think about so much and have so little to write about?

I’ve been thinking a lot about how writing has been intimidating because I don’t want to be judged.  I’ve been surprised by how freely ideas have come since beginning this challenge, but I think it’s because I’m writing for myself and am not too worried about my audience, because I don’t really know my audience.  I can’t really be judged if it’s by strangers can I?  I guess I can, but it should hurt less than if it were by someone I actually knew.

Today seems different, though.  Today I don’t feel free to write, as if everything I need to say is too personal to let out into the world.  I don’t even think it’s because I’m afraid of being judged, but afraid of dealing with the emotion again.

Emotion can be difficult to write about.  It makes me vulnerable.  I don’t think I’m ready to be vulnerable to the world tonight.

2 thoughts on “Nothing to write

  1. You really hit the nail on the head when you said that writing about emotion makes you vulnerable. Just revisiting it to decide where to go with the writing is like touching a scar that’s still sensitive. When you think about that and the fact that our kids DO know their audience and are vulnerable even before they open their mouths or put pen to paper, it gives me a whole new appreciation for how much I am truly asking of my kids every day. Thanks for directing down this train of thought.
    Diane

  2. I always worry about starting our writing year with small moments and personal narrative…the kind of witing that make you put yourself out there to others. Not all our kids have storybook lives…nor do we….I too have had a yucky, bad day. My emotions are raw….but I did not share them all …. yet….

Leave a Reply

