Wedding Bells

Today my “little” sister got engaged!  I’m so excited for her and she couldn’t have found a better guy.  Her fiance balances her out so well and makes her incredibly happy.  I can’t wait to see her and hear the whole proposal story.

Hearing about her engagement made me think about my engagement 9 years ago.  My husband and I were celebrating our dating anniversary that night by having dinner at his house.  I made meatloaf and mashed potatoes and he created as nice a setting as he could in his bedroom, since his roommate had company over.

We had an enjoyable dinner and at the end of dinner he got up and ‘accidentally’ knocked some things over by his desk.  He went over to pick everything up and that’s when he got the ring.  He came over to me on his knees and asked me to marry him during a fully prepared speech.  The sad part is, I wasn’t really paying attention because he can be a little long winded, and I missed his entire speech, until he got to the part where he asked me to marry him.  (I was totally embarrassed that I missed everything, and he still harasses me for it) I was beyond surprised that he asked me that night, since he had been telling everyone else when the proposal was going to be, so I asked him if it would be that weekend and he told me no.  At the last minute he changed his mind.

Obviously I said yes, with tears were running down my face.  I am not normally such an emotional person, but I was so surprised and excited that I couldn’t keep it in.  We shared our news with close friends and family and then went out to see a movie together.

I am hoping that my sister is as happy as I am for her, and as happy as I was when I got engaged.  I’m looking forward to all of the wedding talk to come!

3 thoughts on “Wedding Bells

  1. The happiness you feel for your sister is so sweet. I love how it took you back to your own experience. I hope you can see her soon to get all the details!

Leave a Reply

