Grief

This morning was a rough morning.  I was woken up earlier than I wanted to be, which is never a good thing.  I have a lot of work to do this weekend- for class and for school- so that was also hanging over my shoulders.  Though I usually look forward to the weekend, this weekend- not so much.

Everything changed a bit when I was checking facebook.  I found out that my friend’s dad passed away last night.  What a reality check that my problems are miniscule.  This is a family that I was very close with in middle and high school.  Her parents were my Girl Scout leaders, and since we were friends, I spent a lot of time at her house.

My friend’s dad went into the hospital earlier this week.  From information I gathered, he had a blood infection, but things had started looking better.  I’m not sure when things took a turn for the worse, but next thing I heard, he was gone.

To make matters worse, my friend’s mom passed away less than two years ago.

Being 30 years old and losing a parent seems unimaginable.  I can’t fathom what losing both parents is like. I want to be there for my friend, yet I don’t know what to say or what to do.  We don’t speak very often and live hours away.  I wish I could go to the funeral, but it isn’t possible.

How do I share my feelings and support and make them seem meaningful?  Everything I think of sharing seems unimportant.  I also want to contact her soon, but don’t want to interrupt family time by calling, but e-mail and facebook seem so impersonal at a time like this.

I’m at a loss for what to do, and yet want to do something. Hoping my friend and her family know that I’m thinking of them during this difficult time.

3 thoughts on “Grief

  1. Follow your heart…you have deep feelings about your friend. Grief takes a long time…you will not be too late. I hope you will have peace about when and how you respond to your friend’s need, and comfort for your own grief when you think of losing someone who was an important part of your life, too. Prayers.

    • I am so sorry to hear that your friend is going through this. I had a girl friend who lost her dad a few years ago. She later thanked me for being at the funeral. She remembered who was there and it mattered to her. It made an impact. I think people just want to know that you care in whatever shape that takes. It never hurts to express that care. But I’m no expert on these matters by any means.

  2. I am so sorry about the loss of your friends father, and for your loss of a friend and mentor. You asked the question, “How do I share my feelings and support and make them seem meaningful? Everything I think of sharing seems unimportant.” If I may share something to answer your questions.
    My father died today 14 years ago. I would love to hear how his life touched other people. I would love to have stories.
    I pray your words will be healing to your friend, and that you will be comforted in your loss as well.

Leave a Reply

