Reflecting on the First 10 Days

Wow- Day 11 already!  First, I’m so proud of myself for making it this far.  I am quite the perfectionist and am going to make myself write all 31 days, no matter how difficult it is to come up with a writing topic.

I’ve been following Two Writing Teachers for over a year now, so I’ve been aware of the challenge.  Initially, I had no interest.  I though there was no way that I could write for 31 days straight, even if I wanted to make my writing public, which I did NOT.

Things changed this semester, though.  I’m taking a graduate course on writing instruction and assessment.  I’m learning more about writing, and more about myself as a writing.  I’m realizing that if I really want to be a good teacher of writing, then I need to be a practitioner of writing too.  I knew this about reading, but until now it hasn’t really clicked about writing.

One of my assignments this term was to try writing in two unfamiliar genres.  I chose poetry as one, but I also chose blogging.  I’ve been intrigued about blogging, but didn’t really see a purpose- who would want to read about my life, my thoughts?  Knowing that the SOLS Challenge was coming up, I thought it was the perfect opportunity and motivation to get me writing.  So far, so good!

I’m quite surprised by how often I think about writing now.  Some days I know exactly what I’m going to write about, because I’ve been thinking about it all day.  I also find myself in situations where I think “I could write about this.”  That said, I’ve already hit some days where I sit for quite a while not knowing what in the world to write.  I’m exhausted and writing is one of the last things on my mind.  Finding a topic and writing, though is refreshing, even when I’m exhausted.  It’s been a great way for me to communicate my thoughts and feelings, and I like the pseudo-anonymity.

I’m looking forward to the next 2/3 of the month.  I know they will bring challenges, but I also hope to see myself grow as a writer- especially in confidence.  I want to be a model for my students and I feel like this is a great starting point!

One thought on “Reflecting on the First 10 Days

  1. luckygurl says:

    I know what you mean when you say, “I’m quite surprised by how often I think about writing now.” The other day I went for a run, and realized I’d run the whole way with my earbuds in, but nooo music, because I’d been thinking about my writing the whole time and forgotten to start my ipod! Do you keep a running list of topic ideas? That’s been good for me. Of course, sometimes when I sit down, I’m inspired in a totally different direction, but at least I know I have some ideas to fall back on. Congratulations on getting this far, and good luck for the next 20 days!!
    🙂
    marika

Leave a Reply

